Essex Manor Reviews

 

Trip Advisor Review by Heidi S., October 13, 2011

Really nice place with a friendly and helpfull landlord - 5 out of 5 stars

We stayed at the Marilyn Monroe room for 4 days -and everything was absolutely lovely, - clean, quiet and safe.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Jacques59, February 17, 2011


Good value, excellent management - 5 out of 5 stars

My wife and I stayed here for several weeks. The efficiency apartments are excellent for short-term stays of a month or more. They are clean, quiet, well appointed and everything works. The patio with BBQ grills, shaded tables and a hot tub are a nice plus. Quiet neighborhood with easy an walk to grocery stores and a few restaurants.Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple

Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 3 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Safarigold, July 5, 2011


Great accommodation, location a little out-of-the-way - 4 out of 5 stars

We were really happy at the Essex Manor.


Good-sized room for two people, nice that it has a separate dressing room and bathroom, well decorated and kitted out with everything you could need - plenty of fresh towels, waste-baskets etc. The bed is on the soft-side, though.


The kitchen was brilliant. Full-sized, fully-equipped and exactly what we needed.


The only draw-back for us was the location. If you are spending a lot of time on the west-side of L.A., West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Venice and Santa Monica etc, then get ready to spend a lot of time in the car. But if you're staying more around Downtown, Silverlake, East Hollywood, then it's a good option...


We would definitely consider staying again, depending on where most of our activitites were based.Check in: 4 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 3 out of 5 stars

Location: 2 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by BMWDave1968, July 6, 2011 for a stay in July 2011


Great location - 4 out of 5 stars


Great escape for a weekend trip. Our primary reason for going to la was for Universal Studios which was about a 15 minute drive. It was also easy to get to the la Farmers Market and The Grove. Very spacious for being a studio apt. We utilized the stove/fridge/microwave which saved on going out for a couple of meals. Outside of the many fireworks going off all weekend, it was very quiet for being in the city. When we opened the door to leave and check-out, we had caramel apples at the doorway in celebration for the 4th of July. Thanks for that, and the clean, safe place to stay.


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 4 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 4 out of 5 stars

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Dance Mom, August 31, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Charming - 4 out of 5 stars

We really enjoyed our stay in the Marilyn Suite at Essex Manor. It is exactly as it looks in the pictures. The Marilyn touches are tasteful, and it is clean and well kept. This suite has everything you need for a long term stay in L.A. The building is clean and secure. The neighbourhood is relatively quiet and clean, and only a few blocks from the metro station and busses. Not too much traffic noise at night. You 'could' sleep 4 people in this room but my teenage daughter and I did find it cozy with just the 2 of us. The memory foam mattresses make for the most wonderful sleep. My only peeve was that the hot tub is 'down' for the night at 9 o'clock. As we were quite often getting in at 8 or 8:30, this meant we didn't get to use the it as often as we would have liked. All in all, much better than staying in a motel or small hotel, and cheaper as well.

Check in: 4 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 3 out of 5 stars

Service: 4 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Tourists, Families w teenagers, Romantic, Rugged,

Response from Heather Leigh, Reservations Desk - 09/01/2011

Dear Ms. Elliot,


Thank you so much for the great review and feedback. We had limited the use of the jacuzzi to 9:00 p.m. as we were concerned about residents close to the area, but we will check with them to determine whether we can revise the time limit upward.


Best regards,


Heather Leigh, Reservations Department


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Kal125, September 26, 2011

Nice apartment good secure parking. - 5 out of 5 stars

We stayed here for 3 nights in September as part of a multi centre trip. The apartment was bright and clean, with a well equipped kitchen. It was in a nice area, fairly central. The carpark was great with a security gate so you didn't have to worry about finding a space. We didn't use the hot tub or bbqs but the area they looked good - we would have used them if we were staying longer. Checking in and out was easy and quick. We had problems finding the place as our sat nav didn't recognise the address, but Don the manager helped us over the phone.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple


Value : 4 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 4 out of 5


Room Tip: I would maybe check before travelling that the sat nav if you are using one recognises the address, and if not print off a route planner just to be sure.”


Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Marc O., January 28, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

WE stayed there for three days and loved it. The hotel is close to a subway station and the Rapid Bus 720 to Santa Monica.


We would definitely be back.


Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Denis T., April 11, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

This was an excellent location for a 3 month, exploratory, stay in downtown LA. A short walk to the subway which can take you anywhere you want to go in LA County. The building is maintained with excellence and the staff and management team ensure all areas are clean and in great shape. The parking is safe and the building is very secure. I would not hesitate to request accommodations at this property for any long or short terms stays in this area again.  Although there is no housekeeping as the previous review indicate, I asked management to borrow a vacuum and broom and was able to maintain the apartment in satisfactory condition.


Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Liza G., April 16, 2011

5 out of 5 stars

This place was a great stay. The Apt/Rooms feel like your own little home. They come equiped with almost everything, and even though there was no housekeeping it didnt matter cause they provided a broom and mop to keep the place tiddy in case of any spills and such. We also had a bunch of towels, plenty of bedding and extra blankets in case it got chilly and a large flat screen television. The kitchen had dinnerware, cuttlery/silverware and pots/pans.  Like I said, this place had litterally everything.


The parking is in a gated lot which made me feel good about leaving my rental there.The location is kind of in the center of LA. Close to Melrose, Rodeo and about 5-15 min drives (unless in Traffic) to most beaches. Close walks to all public transportation.


All in all it was an amazing stay at a great place. I would reccomend this place to everyone. Especially with most Hotels now a days being either severly expensive, overpriced for their type of hotel, depressing looking or just horrible hotels with horrible reviews.  


They had a good rate, the room/hotel was great, and best of all it was all CLEAN. Def one happy camper :)


Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Jessica A., June 29, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

This place is very clean and fully equipped! The location isn't prime if you are wanting to spend a lot of time in Hollywood or West Hollywood (mostly due to traffic) but if you don't mind spending some windshield time or about $25 - $35 in taxi's, then it's good location. VERY close to downtown and easy access to highways!


For the location, price and how clean and fully equipped it was, i would definitely recommend it!


Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Moses I., July 8, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

Very clean and fully equipped Kitchen , with gated private parking. We have stayed here on two occasions and will definitely stay again. Close to downtown and freeways.

Don, the Hotel manager is very helpful.


Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Maawiya A., July 15, 2011

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Hotel with Unbeatable prices.  My parents stayed there for a month and definitely enjoyed their stay.  Comes fully furnished with full kitchen and accessories, Flat screen TV with Cable, DVD, Laundry, gated parking with your own spot; the place is clean, on site staff friendly with Don the Manager very kind and Helpful.  My Parents loved it and will stay there again.

It is close to Wilshire Boulevard, the 10, 110 and 101 Freeways.  Great location next to major stores and groceries stores.  It does not get any better than that.  I highly recommend it.  Check it out, you will love it.


Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Mike C., April 21, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

This is a great place to stay.  It is clean, quiet and affordable.  The apartment is fully equipped.  I was pleasantly surprised.  The location is central to all of the LA Metro Areas.  I would most definitely stay here again.


Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Mark L., October 18, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

The apartment was clean and well equipped for self-catering. It was also handy for downtown LA, Santa Monica and Hollywood.


Link to Actual Review

Hand Written Review, Approximately February 2011

Re: Moving


Thank you for allowing me to rent these past 16 odd months.  I really have enjoyed my time here and I must say Don has been incredibly helpful and informative.  He is an excellent Manager.


At this time I must give my month’s notice that I am going to move.  I have purchased a condo ....


Thank you again,

Reagan M.

E-mailed Review, January 13, 2011

To Who It May Concern:


FIrst I would like to start off by saying that I have enjoyed my time living here for the last eight years .... 


Management has been terrific and I would like to thank you for all that you have done during my time here.  All the best in the future.


Sincerely,


Romy A.

Mailed Greeting Card, December, 2010

Made the move ... with no hitches ....

It was great to have such a nice landlord as you all the 12 years I was living there!


Take care and have the best of Holidays!


Bruce T.

Letter Review, December 1, 2010

....

I have thoroughly enjoyed my tenure here at Essex Manor and my move is only prompted by the expansion of my family, as my wife and I are expecting our first child ... necessitating our need for a bigger apartment to accommodate our growing Family.

Sincere Thanks,

Mark D.

Letter Review, May 3, 2005

Thank you for the great apartment.  It has been a great year living here.  I have decided to get a room mate, so I will be moving unfortunately ..., and I thank you so much for the great apartment.

Sincerely,

Giovanni G.

Letter Review, August 4, 2004

....

It was a privilege to live here at Essex Manor.  My two years here were very enjoyable.  I would like to put out a special thanks to your Essex Manor manager, Don.  If I had any problem what so ever Don took care of it with out hesitation.  I only hope that my new manager is as good, friendly, mature and as quick to help out as Don is.

Thank you for the past two year,

Sean M.

Letter Review, March 4, 2004

....

I appreciate the years I have called Essex my home but with my work keeping me out of the state ....  I’m sorry to go and once again thank you for letting me call Essex my home.

Sincerely,

William O.

Letter Review, December 14, 2003

....

Thanks for everything, Don.  I’ve really enjoyed living here these past 2+ years, and you’ve been a really cool manager.  It’s only because of family ... I’ve decided to move.

Sincerely,

Victor O.

Letter Review, August 23, 2003

...thank you for giving me a great place to live for the last 18 months you’re a great managing company!

Sincerely,

Toni B.

Letter Review, June 29, 2003

....

You have been such a wonderful landlord and Don has really taken such good care of my apartment.  I have really appreciated it very much.

And, I will certainly miss the goodies on the holidays....it is a sense of family that is created when those treats are at our door!

....

Thanks again for being the best landlords I have ever had!

Kathleen G.

E-mailed Review,  October 19, 2011

Hey there,


.....


I was pretty pessimistic about finding a good apartment within my price range.  As a struggling writer, I didn’t have a ton of money to put toward rent and figured I would have to settle for a bad place.  I was wrong.


I checked out Essex Manor ’cuz it was affordable.  I stayed because the management there does such an amazing job caring for the tenants.  I’m not exaggerating when I use that term either -- they truly take “care” of the people living in their building.  They keep the place clean, give immediate attention to necessary repairs, invest in upkeep on the building’s aesthetic and maintain security.  And on top of that, I each of us received a small gift for just about every significant holiday of the year.  I always felt safe and comfortable there.


It has really been a terrific experience.


- Mathew B.

Wimdu Review by Jessica, October 18, 2011

10 Excellent


Stayed in W.C. Fields Room in October

4 of us stayed here for our first trip to LA. And for the price we paid it was absolutely worth it. We were surprised to see how new the appliances were and how clean the place was. Extra clean sheets, tons of clean towels available right in the apartment for use. Super clean kitchen and appliances. A very well maintained place. There was free parking in a gated area by the building, which was great. The extra fun part is that there was a hot tub for my friends and I to chill in after a long day of touring the city. Great location, easy to drive to our destinations within the city. We are planning to stay here again for sure.


Thanks Heather for the prompt responses via email and our phone calls! Thanks to Don as well for being very helpful during our stay. We had a great time and our stay was awesome!! Jess


Link to Actual Review

Letter Review, June 27, 2003

Thank you so much for your kindness and generosity...

You’ve created a “home” here for everybody and I thank you.

Bundy G.

Yelp Review by John F., December 12, 2012

3 out of 5 stars

I got to be honest.


I like this place.  Certainly not flashy or upscale.  But I was confortable for the most part. Upon checking in, we called our contact and he met us in the parking lot with our keys, gate remote and dos and don’ts of the facility...we never seen him again after that.  But he wasn’t out of reach; I prefer it that way.


Something weird with our room was that after time, it would become really warm inside the unit; like 75 degrees plus.  We often had to run the AC to mediate the issue.  Another thing that I noticed: the shower was incredibly small with a bad shower head to boot.


Overall, this place is off the beating path, with confortable amenities, centrally located - most things within a 20 minute drive.  Would I come here again? For the price, yes I would.


Link to Actual Review.

Yelp Review by JoAnne G., April 3, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

Great place to stay, location is easy for all the Hollywood attractions.  Clean and safe.  Friendly staff too.  Comfortable bed and pillows, soft linens, cute blanket and decor.  While the perimeter of some of the local streets were a bit rough (homeless people and dirty rundown area a few blocks over), the street the Essex is on is quiet and safe.  Cute building with nice locked parking lot.  The hot time was nice, although could’ve been hotter.  Great value, clean and quiet, comfortable, convenient.  Will stay again and recommend for sure!


Link to Actual Review.

Yelp Review by Chris B., January 9, 2013

4 out of 5 stars

We stayed in the Marilyn Monroe suite for three nights while visiting family for Christmas. Lee, who was acting as temporary manger, was very friendly and helpful. The suite was amazingly clean. On Christmas day, we came back at the end of the day to discover that two fabulous boxed cupcakes from one of LA's top bakeries had been left for us! The bed was quite comfy. The pillows were kind of flat, but I always bring my own! There were extra pillows and an extra blanket available. Also there were plenty of towels. Security was very good, including the gated parking lot. I do have to say that the shower was probably the tiniest I've been in since my long ago trip to Europe and the showerhead was quite low. If you are a plus size or tall person, the shower will definitely be a challenge. If you have a problem with stairs, there are some very narrow and somewhat steep stairs to get from inside the building to the parking lot. You can always go out the front door and open the security gate to enter the parking lot in that manner. The building is also 2 stories and doesn't have an elevator, so you would want to make sure that you got a suite on the first floor if the stairs would be a problem. Despite these minor drawbacks, I would absolutely stay there again without hesitation. It is an incredible deal in the heart of LA.


Link to Actual Review.

Yelp Review by Michael B., August 27, 2012

4 out of 5 stars

This place is designed around a longer term stay.  It hard secure parking which was awesome and the place was well cared for.  Neighborhood felt safe but still close to downtown.

The room I had was a basic studio but nicely furnished, everything worked great, etc.  No complaints and would def. stay again if I was in LA for longer than a few days.

Also the place had BBQ grills, a hot tub, and laundry all of which were in great shape.


Link to Actual Review.

Yelp Review by Stacie H., July 24, 2012

5 out of 5 stars

We stayed in the Jimmy Stewart room for 8 days and before the trip was nervous about the location because I was traveling with my Mother and we have never been to LA before. The room was so charming and clean! Don, the manager in charge was very helpful. The location was perfect for what we needed. Centrally located to downtown and easy to get to Beverley Hills, Culver City, Studio City, Silver Lake and Hollywood. Free parking and WI-fi. Also a flat screen TV with a DVD player in the room. Everyday my mom and I kept saying, "I can't believe we found this place, it is so perfect!". The prices were outstanding and we could cook in our room so we didn't take back any vacation weight with us. : ) There are two markets within a five minute drive. The futon was super comfy and my Mom thought the bed was too. There were plenty of towels, and the first round of coffee and toilet paper was on them. I highly recommend this Hotel/Apartment to anyone who is looking for an affordable, clean, place to stay.

Link to Actual Review.

Google + Review by Google User, August, 2012

4 out of 5 stars

Stayed here a couple of weeks and was satisfied. A good price for the value. Don't expect too much. It's clean and safe.


Link to Actual Review.

E-mailed Review by Kevin S., July 31, 2013

I was very pleased.  Don was most accommodating and helpful.  Security was appreciated, felt safe there.  And the room was comfortable.  Next time I go to L.A. I will definitely stay at the Essex.  Thank you.

Trip Advisor Review by TravelGirl11083, April 20, 2012

Simply Perfect! - 5 out of 5 stars

We checked into the Judy Garland Apartment for five nights. Don checked us in at a very late hour and he was very hospitable. Check in went very smoothly. The room was GREAT!It was spotless.They left lots of towels, hand towels, and wash clothes. The kitchen was stocked with everything. It was nice going to the market and Joans on third to get things for breakfast and snacks. We used the bed and futon. Both were very comfortable. I was very surprised on how comfortable the futon was! ( I called when I got home to see where they bought the futon so I can buy one too! ) I felt safe at all times at this hotel. I loved having an assigned parking space in a gated parking lot. The hotel was in the perfect location for us! Easy to find with GPS. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to call home while in LA. Thank you!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by pondandpines, June 3, 2013

Delighted with Essex Manor and the Eartha Kitt apartment - 5 out of 5 stars

The two of us stayed in the Eartha Kitt apartment for three days, and were delighted with it. It's adorable, and historic, very tastefully decorated in a retro kind of way, with black and white photos of movie stars and old LA--a tribute to the fact that the woman who built the place was a friend of Mary Pickford. The place is unique, and you feel you're at home, not in a cookie cutter motel.

As other reviews point out, the apartment is very clean and comfortable, and very well designed to maximize the use of a small space (In addition to the amenities mentioned on the website, there is an iron and ironing board). Eartha Kitt is on the second floor, in the back by the parking lot, and it is very quiet for downtown LA.

We might mention that the management went above and beyond to allow our daughter's boyfriend to check in for us (long story). All in all, we were very happy with Essex Manor, and will definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Hodilays, July 5, 2013

A little luxurous find in LA :) - 5 out of 5 stars

Absolute perfection. I stayed in the Paul Newman apartment for 4 months whilst studying nearby. I chose the apartments because they are so well equipped (fully stocked kitchen with everything you could need), quaint boutique bathroom, a bed to die for and loads of linens and towels). For a small studio apartment it was really lovely and well thought out. The jacuzzi was wonderful at to soak in at the end of a long day and the parking is fabulous! I need to make a huge shout out to DON the resident property manager. He went out of his way on many occasions to see to any problems I had (my tv signal went out a few times and Don fixed it within minutes of calling him- my refrigerator stopped working and when I got back from school, he'd replaced it and restocked it with all of my perishables in the same place!)... On a few special occasions (Halloween and Thanksgiving), I came home to find lovely suprises. Gifts of candies and Halloween goodies, and a Thanksgiving cupcake! with personalised messages... Those were the little touches that really were the icing on the cake for me where customer care was concerned. I was quite saddened to leave my home away from home and will certainly be back to stay again.

Stayed Stayed August 2012, traveled solo


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Di P., May 8, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

Stayed at Essex in the Marlon Brando apartment.  Bed was super comfortable, shower great and kitchenette also great.  Learnt a lot  about local public transport which was really cheap.  Only downside for an Ozzie is that there was no instant coffee or kettle.  Went and bought coffee and boiled water on the stove.  Met or exceeded expectations, would stay there again and Don very helpful with the dumb Ozzie’s.


Link to Actual Review.

Yelp Review by Marvey M., May 23, 2013

4 out of 5 stars

The Staff was very helpful getting us settled.  Loved the loation for early morning walks along historic Wilshire Blvd.  Great deal for the price.


Link to Actual Review.

Yelp Review by Gloria O., July 5, 2013

4 out of 5 stars

We stayed here for 1 week.  The location was quiet enough, safe with gated entrance, and easy to get around the city from.  We got the Marilyn Monroe room and it was just as it was in the pictures - no more, no less.  Very Clean!  Very good kitchen facility in the room.  The only reason I would give it 4 stars instead of 5, is that every time we cooked anything, the smoke alarm would go off.  This meant that I couldn’t fry bacon as crispy as we liked it, or pan-fry carne asada easily.  Management was helpful and often on the premises.  I will definitely use this place again, and recommend it to friends who don’t need flashy.


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Europhile2012, April 21, 2013

Good Budget Option in LA - 4 out of 5 stars

My husband and I stayed at Essex Manor Hotel Apartments with a small group of friends while attending a convention in LA. We all found the Essex to be a very good choice of hotel for our trip. The small studio apartments have all you need for a short stay, fully equipped kitchenette with a small table & chairs, very comfortable bed. The shower head is very low down, fine for some of us shorter guests but a bit challenging for the 6 footers in our group. All 4 apartments in our group were immaculately clean. I heard that the rooms facing the road can be a bit noisy. The only reason I don't give Essex Manor 5 out of 5 is that the neighborhood is a tad bit sketchy. But I would definitely stay at Essex Manor again if I visit LA in the future.

Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 3 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by PatG875, April 3, 2013

Great place, cute, close to everything, safe, clean, comfortable. A+ - 5 out of 5 stars

Stayed 5 nights in a studio apartment here and while it was small, we knew that and it was still a great value. We all slept great. Nice clean place, cute decor, awesome bed, soft clean linens, cute blanket, soft fluffy pillows. Nice towels in the bathroom. Clean and new appliances in the kitchen. New furniture as well. Super great place to stay! Safe, locked parking lot with assigned spot, so no worries. Plenty of locked entry points. Nice to have a laundry room for use and snack machine too. Staff was all very friendly and helpful. Close to all the Hollywood/LA attractions, easy to get back to the apartment. Although the nearby streets a few blocks away are a bit grungy, I didn't feel unsafe here with my family. Don't let that deter you. The street this is on is nice and quiet. Nice hot tub and patio area for relaxing outside. Hot tub could've been hotter but was still nice. My only complaint would be the lights on the building are bright, leaving the room not very dark even w/ the shades closed. Otherwise I'd stay again for sure. Good value and most of all comfortable and clean!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by chalouisduletz, February 19, 2013

good value in a nice, clean studio apartment near downtown los angeles - 4 out of 5 stars

I stayed here for a week based upon tripadvisor reviews and was very pleased. Heather was very responsive via email. Don, the on-site manager, was equally helpful. The apartments are very clean and well-furnished. My main reason for chosing an apartment over a budget hotel was the opportunity to cook meals. Don directed me to nearby supermarkets and the kitchen was perfect for my needs. I stayed in the Laurel & Hardy suite. There is just a bit of street noise from Hoover St. across a parking lot. If you are very sensitive to that, ask for an apartment on the west side of the building, overlooking the Manor's secure parking area. The bed is a comfortable memory foam affair. One could have hoped for sheets that were more cottony and less polyestery, but that's a very small matter. It's a great place to stay.

My only caveats have to do with the nature of Los Angeles itself. The only good location is the one closest to wherever you need to be, because the traffic is worse than whatever you've heard. There is no rush hour in perceivable directions -- it's just bad all day, all the time. You're not going to get as many things done as you may have thought in advance, due to travel times. I tried the Metro (Wilshire/Vermont stop is within walking distance) and the signage was so awful I gave up. So look at this location carefully and if it's good for you you'll have a fine experience at Essex Manor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business


Value : 4 out of 5

Location: 4 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 4 out of 5

Rooms: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 4 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by MrGrizzle, December 8, 2012

Excellent Choice - 5 out of 5 stars

The other reviews were spot on, the apartments are quirky and very clean. Good Comfortable bed, and the apartment has everything that you could want for, location ok as we could walk into the Metro, Car Hire best. Great value & thank you Don for looking after us with our early arrivalStayed February 2013, traveled on business

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 4 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 4 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Nellan, September 27, 2012

LOVED IT! Will use again. - 5 out of 5 stars

I stayed in what I believe was the smallest (and cheapest!) available unit at Essex Manor Hotel Apartments. (Mae West Suite.)
It is probably the cleanest hotel I've EVER stayed in. I loved it.

Here's what you get: Air-conditioned (wall unit) studio apartment;
Nice bathroom with more towels than you can use for your stay!
Fully equipped kitchen (full-size refrigerator, toaster, microwave, coffee machine, dish soap, new sponge, stove, plenty of utensils and also break-ware)
Small sitting area where you can eat.
During my week-plus long stay, I never cooked, but I just made coffee in the mornings and kept restaurant-leftovers in the refrigerator.

Here's what you do NOT get:
Constant and annoying maid service.... knocking at all times to deliver things and turn-down service and waking you up in the morning! I LOVED this part of it!
You get ONE packet of coffee and one tiny little shampoo bottle and some generic soap.
So, when you make your reservation here, bring all those silly hotel bottles you've been hoarding! It will come in handy! Bring your own coffee. I bought milk a couple block or so away from a grocery store.
There are many restaurants within walking distance - -- well, not on 6-inch heels, but within a couple few blocks (Subway, Mediterranean place, Dr. Robbin - health food, Cafe Mak)

I never felt unsafe; you get an outside key, a parking space, gate opener and a code for your room. I didn't even see anyone else while I was there - really quiet. Manager was nice, but he doesn't bother you - loved that!
I'll stay here again next time I'm in LA and need to work in that area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by NicciWeasley, September 8, 2012

Not luxury, but very good!. - 4 out of 5 stars

This is not the most luxurious place in LA but I think it's very nice for the price.
My friend and I stayed in the Audrey Hepburn room. The kitchen was very nice and the bathroom too.
The location isn't perfect but as long as you have a car, you're fine. It's also very close to bus and metro rail.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends


Value : 4 out of 5

Location: 3 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 3 out of 5

Rooms: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4 out of 5

Service: 4 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by LaSignoraLaura, September 3, 2012

The place to stay in L.A! - 5 out of 5 stars

We stayed in the Marilyn Monroe Apartment for 4 nights in August and we cannot be more happy. Our flight was cancelled and we had to arrive late but our phone didn't work in the Usa so we could not contact the resident manager directly. At our arrival he was very helpful and kind though, and he gave us a tour of the property. It was like having a real home in L.A and that was great. Our apartment was small but packed with everything we need, so we always had breakfast and dinner at home. It was very clean and they gave you a lot of towels so if you are there for 1 week or less you don't have to do the laundry just for towels. The have washers and dryers in the basement so it's very convenient if you are traveling with a light luggage and you need to wash your clothes. Private complimentary parking is a plus, as wi-fi. The only negative part, for me, was the bed...too soft for my taste, but I guess that's pretty personal.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 3 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by stacie365, July 22, 2012

This place was perfect!! - 5 out of 5 stars

We stayed in the Jimmy Stewart room for 8 days and before the trip was nervous about the location because I was traveling with my Mother and we have never been to LA before. The room was so charming and clean! Don, the manager in charge was very helpful. The location was perfect for what we needed. Centrally located to downtown and easy to get to Beverley Hills, Culver City, Studio City, Silver Lake and Hollywood. Free parking and WI-fi. Also a flat screen TV with a DVD player in the room. Everyday my mom and I kept saying, "I can't believe we found this place, it is so perfect!". The prices were outstanding and we could cook in our room so we didn't take back any vacation weight with us. : ) There are two markets within a five minute drive. The futon was super comfy and my Mom thought the bed was too. There were plenty of towels, and the first round of coffee and toilet paper was on them. I highly recommend this Hotel/Apartment to anyone who is looking for an affordable, clean, place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by holidayman08, May 30, 2012

What value! - 5 out of 5 stars

For $119 including taxes and parking, I had a place to myself that was secure and clean. Even had a kitchen and free wi-fi. How can you do better? I had the "Burns & Allen penthouse" which even has a small outdoor roofdeck; not suitable for children, though.

Head around the corner and eat authentic Salvadoran cuisine for rock-bottom prices.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo


Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 4 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by rambler022, May 30, 2012

Good Value - 4 out of 5 stars

They are security minded, its a little disconcerting that they feel they have to. The room is clean and we have everything that we need for our stay, 9 days. The location is a bit of a negative. We have to drive everywhere. There isn't much within walking distance except some Mexican joints. The bed is quite comfy. We stayed in the Elizabeth Taylor room.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple


Value : 4 out of 5

Location: 2 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 4 out of 5

Rooms: 3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4 out of 5

Service: 3 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Wimdu Review by OUTI, September, 2012
10 Excellent

Nice,quiet place,very good bed in the room,good location.Some problems with TV.(doesn`t work all the time,so we had to call Don to help us,after he change the "box" it was okay)
Link to Actual Review     https://www.wimdu.com/offers/4KJE7W6Tshapeimage_1_link_0
Wimdu Review by Thomas, September, 2012
10 Excellent

Nice, quite and clean apartment with excellent connection to the public transportation in LA. 
We found the apartment as announced at the Wimdu site. 
We liked the Hollywood motto of the hotel and the posters and photographs of W.C.Fields in our apartment. Nice communication before our stay, uncomplicated check-in and check out, professional introduction by Don, the manager. 
We suggest the Essex Manor to all who look for a headquarters for the discovery of Los Angeles.
Link to Actual Review     https://www.wimdu.com/offers/4KJE7W6Tshapeimage_2_link_0
Wimdu Review by Patrick, January, 2013
10 Excellent
It was such a nice experience staying at the Marilyn Monroe Hotel Apartment.
it was everything we could have hoped for in at hotel apartment and then some the manager Don was a real help, and we would come back again
Link to Actual Review     https://www.wimdu.com/offers/1E0TBAPOshapeimage_3_link_0
Wimdu Review by Simone, January, 2013
8 Very good

I enjoyed to stay in the apartment. The room was clean, light and quite, and it has an very good connection to the public transport of L.A. (you don't need a car). The apartment was like announced at the Wimdu site.
Link to Actual Review https://www.wimdu.com/offers/1E0TBAPOshapeimage_4_link_0
Wimdu Review by Michael, November 2012
8 Very good

Hello, We have a pleasant stay in the apartment MAE WEST HOTEL! Welcoming and very friendly staff. One small complaint ... The windows do not open. Apart from a small corner. And you should know that the apartment is on the side of a restaurant karaoke. And it is very very noisy.
Link to Actual Review     https://www.wimdu.com/offers/362FUO6P#offer-reviewsshapeimage_5_link_0

Yelp Review by Holly P., March 29, 2011

4 out of 5 stars

The room was very cute and convenient to all the areas we wanted to visit.  There isn't daily housekeeping which I was not aware of but didn't mind.  The one small problem that I had was the lack of hot water.  I'm not sure what the problem was there and didn't really check into it so that was my own fault.  Overall, it was a great place to stay and I plan to stay there again the next time I visit LA.


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by ateava, January 8, 2013

“Cool !” 4 out of 5 stars

Google Translation:

We just spent 6 days and 6 nights at the Essex Manor Apartment Hotel in LA and we are happy. The apartments are comfortable and the location of this building is quite central. The area is rather Koreen ... there is not much around but as everything is done by car in LA .. it's no problem. From the point of view of safety is well organized, secured by a gate parking. You are given an order on arrival. Apartment doors open using a generated code only on the day of arrival. Nobody can enter your apartment without this code. The kitchen is well equipped to make your meal. Bring your matches for the stove! The detergent is provided. Plenty of towels in the bathroom as well as soap and shampoo. Coffee is available for 2 days. Unfortunately no tea! As it was the holiday season, we were treated to a bottle of champagne for two. Warning appreciated ... The staff is knowledgeable and helpful and the contact is easy for little one takes the trouble to be friendly and open. I recommend this place to people in couples, families or single people as well as business travelers. The Essex Manor apartment hotel is not an impersonal place and that is what makes it so charming!


Original Review:

Nous venons de passer 6 jours et 6 nuits à l'Essex manor Hotel Appartment de L.A et nous sommes contents. Les appartements sont confortables et l'emplacement de cet immeuble est assez central. Le quartier est plutôt Koréen... il n'y a pas grand chose aux alentours mais comme tout se fait en voiture à L.A... ça ne pose aucun problème. Du point de vue de la sécurité c'est bien organisé, parking sécurisé par un portail. On vous remet une commande à votre arrivée. Les portes des appartements s'ouvrent à l'aide d'un code généré uniquement le jour de votre arrivée. Personne ne peut entrer dans votre appartement sans ce code.
La cuisine est bien aménagée pour faire vos repas. Apportez vos allumettes pour la gazinière ! Le liquide vaisselle est fourni. De nombreuses serviettes dans la salle de bain ainsi que du savon et du shampoing. Du café est à votre disposition pour 2 jours. Pas de thé malheureusement !
Comme c'était la période des fêtes, nous avons eu droit à une bouteille de champagne pour deux. Attention appréciée...
Le personnel est compétent et serviable et le contact est facile pour peu qu'on se donne la peine d'être aimable et ouvert. Je recommande cet endroit aux personnes en couple, en famille ou seule ainsi qu'aux personnes en voyage d'affaire. L'Essex Manor hotel appartment n'a rien d'un endroit impersonnel et c'est ce qui fait son charme !

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple


Value : 4 out of 5

Location: 4 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 4 out of 5

Rooms: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 4 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Smaragdengel, March 15, 2013

Google Translation:

"I can only recommend this apartment"  5 out of 5 stars

The aparthotel is located in Koreatown, which is very close to the usual attractions. However, you should have a car in LA. The hotel is very safe, as well as the environment. Our apartment (Marylin Monroe), was well furnished with everything you need (woman). The bathroom is equipped with hairdryer and very many towels. Everything is fresh and clean. In the kitchen everything is there what you need for cooking. The bed and additional bed are back-friendly and convenient. There is a private car park, which is also well secured. Don is a friendly and helpful person. We had the one and ausschecken no problems, without having to wait a long time, it all went without problems. We had everything booked in Germany, and everything turned out just as we had imagined. We would not hesitate to check in again at this apartment complex. We give on a scale of1-10 a smooth 10 and more. :-)


Original Review:


“Ich kann dieses Apartment nur empfehlen” 5 out of 5 stars


Das Aparthotel liegt in Koreatown, was sehr nah an den üblichen Attraktionen liegt. Allerdings sollte man in LA ein Auto haben. Das Hotel ist sehr sicher, wie auch die Umgebung. Unser Apartment (Marylin Monroe), war toll eingerichtet, mit allem was man (Frau) braucht. Das Badezimmer ist mit Fön und ganz vielen Handtüchern bestückt. Alles ist frisch und sauber. In der Küche ist alles vorhanden, was man zum Kochen braucht. Das Bett und auch das Zusatzbett sind Rückenfreundlich und bequem. Es gibt einen eigenen Parkplatz, der auch gut gesichert ist. Don ist ein freundlicher und hilfsbereiter Mensch. Wir hatten beim ein und ausschecken keinerlei Probleme, ohne lange warten zu müssen, es ging alles ganz unproblematisch. Wir hatten alles in Deutschland gebucht, und alles hat so geklappt, wie wir uns das vorgestellt hatten. Wir würden jederzeit wieder in dieser Apartmentanlage einchecken. Wir geben auf einer Skala von1-10 eine glatte 10 und mehr. :-)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends

Value : 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 5 out of 5

Rooms: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Service: 5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Martinius2701, August 15, 2013

“overall a okey hotell, but nothing more” 3 out of 5 stars


Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Essex Manor from 07/24/13 to 08/14/13 at the Judy Garden room. The Hoteles location in LA is quite okay, but a bit too far from where things happened.The area is defined as Korea-town. The hotel has a great parking, good service and totally okey out area and a nice jacuzzi.

The hotel offers value for you´r money and looks relatively good both inside and out. It's a really cool concept and it is very nice to have a kitchen. The kitchen has limited equipment, but enough to make most of the common dishes you want.

The room is quite nice and charming concept, but it is a bit bad that the room was not cleaned one or two times during our long stay. We did was the sheets and towels ourselves, but the floor was full of sand and dust after some days. Our bed was unfortunately a little too hard and the mattress has a platisk shells around for keeping bedbugs away. Unfortunately, this plastic did make a lot of squeak and are a bit uncomfortable.

Otherwise this hotel is not recommended for those who are sensitive to light or sound, because the aircondiotion is alert right true the bed and is blowing on you all the time. It runs on a few different levels, but even at its weakest level it still makes a lot of noise. Last thing who are a little negative is that the room is never completely dark. In the morning it is very bright in the room, even with the blinds down.

overall a very okey hotel with decent location and charming property, but unfortunately I have to say I'm a little disappointed overall. This is because of the bed, the sounds and the light in the morning. You get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Is not for those who are sensitive for light or sound!


Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple


Value : 3 out of 5

Location: 2 out of 5

Sleep Quality: 1 out of 5

Rooms: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2 out of 5

Service: 3 out of 5


EssexManor, Guest Relations Manager at Essex Manor Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 17, 2013


The reviewer complains that the room was not cleaned during their stay when our rates, terms, and conditions reflect that the hotel apartment is rented as a furnished apartment without housekeeping services. Were we to add room service, our rates would have to be increased significantly, whereas most of our guests choose to take responsibility for themselves and save money. All needed cleaning tools are included with the hotel apartment; use of a vacuum can be requested; and a guest can request cleaning services at $20 an hour. Given the terms and conditions which are made clear to guests in advance, as the basis for our affordable rates, it seems somewhat unreasonable for a guest to take advantage of extremely reasonable rates and then later complain that housekeeping services were not included.


We have not heard that our memory foam beds are too hard or uncomfortable in any way--as a matter of fact, we have received many compliments about the comfort of our memory foam beds and memory foam futons, including requests for information about where they were purchased.


We will look into the complaint about the bed protector, and the sound of the air conditioner, but we tend to think that this guest may have been on the sensitive side.


Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by GomezAtlanta, January 1, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Juche, The spot for travelers who like self-reliance! - 5 out of 5 stars

Juche is Korean for self reliance and since the Essex house is adjacent to what's called "Korea Town" in L.A. it seemed approprite. This place is a great economical home away from home. These are studio apartments with full kitchens and many of the amenities found in a hotel. What there isn't is room service, house keeping and valet parking..but if you don't need room service, house keeping, and valet parking this is the place. It is a secureed property with electronic access and codes to get in. The "staff" is great and very friendly and informative. I would highly recomend this for independent travellers.


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Friends

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Pearl, December 24, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Great value - 4 out of 5 stars

We staid almost 3 weeks like at home.
This place was what we expected, quiet and very clean.
We appreciated, all the furniture and linen, towel was new and good quality.
We enjoyed to have free wifi, free parking.
The little plus, free coffee and free water and free detergent when we arrived, so nice to make coffee as soon as check in.
the little kitchen was well funished to make breakfast.
We choose this place because it s a boutique hotel, there is not many staff like big hotel but everytime find someone to answer to our question.
Nice welcome easy check in.
We will go back for sure.


Cleanliness: 4 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 4 out of 5 stars

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Service: 4 out of 5 stars

Value: 4 out of 5 stars


Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Inessa, August 11, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Safety and private - 3 out of 5 stars

It's absolutely safe and private! The staff isn't seen but everywhere is cleanly!  If you have any questions the staff always helps you immediately. Amenities are very well (including huge amount of towels and new Swiffer Sweeper))). Location is up to you- this is office and colleges district. Metro and bus stops are nearby. The car rental and not expensive korean spa are across the road! If you have a car - it's better surely for la (parking space is free). Barbecue area and hot tube are always for us!


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 4 out of 5 stars

Service: 4 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 3 out of 5 stars

Value: 4 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Families

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Cathy A, August 24, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Clean and Comfortable Stay - 4 out of 5 stars

We stayed in this apartment for 12 nights. The apartment was exceptionally clean and more than big enough for both of us. The kitchen was well equipped,however on arrival we noticed there was not a kettle to make tea; but after mentioning it to Don the apartment manager he kindly went out that day and got one and a tea diffuser too (Thank you Don, if you read this). He was very helpful and listened and dealt with our concern promptly, they really do try to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The bed was the most comfortable that I have stayed in, I believe it is a Memory Foam one. The room faces the apartment's car park and so there is some noise from the gate and back door being opened but most guests are considerate and there is not excessive noise late at night. If you are tall you may want to note that the show is quite low and narrow, I am 5'6" and had to bend down to wash my face and hair. Lots of lovely fluffy towels are provided so you don't have to take your own. I would recommend this apartment if you are looking for somewhere clean and comfortable to stay in la at a reasonable rate. I do note that others have mentioned the entry system to the apartment block, It really is not that daunting; you have a clicker which opens the gate to the parking lot and then one universal key that opens all the external doors and gates into the apartment. Each apartment then has a numeric keypad entry code.


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Families, Rugged

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by rambler022, June 6, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Nice for extended stay - 4 out of 5 stars

We stayed in the Liz Taylor. The room was clean and equipped if one is inclined to prepare some of their meals. Wouldn't recommend for someone with limited mobility though.


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Friends, Groups

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by TghtAcLegend, December 2, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Awesome cool place, home away from home - 5 out of 5 stars

Just as I expected, although the hallway smells funny but overall it is excellent. It has everything, just about everything... would stay again.


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Friends, Families w children

Response from Heather Leigh, Reservations Desk - 12/05/2011

From Essex Manor Management Office: We are glad that our guest found the premises to be excellent overall and that the guest would return. As to a smell in the hallway, we were not informed about it so we could not investigate whether it was a cooking smell, a temporary smell of another origin, etc. Had we been informed, we would have investigated and taken corrective measures as necessary, which we will do now.


Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Elias A, March 24, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

had a great time - 4 out of 5 stars

Cons:
the ceilings are low in places.
it's small
excessive security measures made going in and out a bit of a hassle

Pros:
Its cozy
comfy bed
full kitchen, fully stocked (utensils, not food)
very nice lighting
the rooftop is cool

Overall, I totally dug the place. I just wouldn't go back alone. It would have been way better as a couple. location was cool, koreatown shops and stuff are in walking distance, hollywood's 15 minutes away, lax is 30 minutes. I'd recommend to any friend who has a mate.


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Friends

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by MomwithkidsinLA, June 27, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Great, clean, simple and cheap for la - 5 out of 5 stars

I was in la to visit my daughters and found this place on Craigs List. Located in Korea Town, not far from downtown la, within walking distance of many small neighborhood restaurants. Area near by can be a bit questionable at night. This is a great place for a budget conscious traveler. Much better than my last visit when I stayed in what must be the seediest hotel in Beverly Hills (for the same price as Essex Manor.) Very clean and tidy with a small, functionally equipped kitchen. The manager was very friendly and helpful.


Check in : 5 out of 5

Comfort: 5 out of 5

Service: 3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Location: 5 out of 5

Value: 4 out of 5


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers, Rugged

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by StephenD, January 15, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Great facilities and secure but hire a car!! - 4 out of 5 stars

We really enjoyed our stay here! Apartment had all amenities required, free, secure off street parking and reasonably priced laundry facilities! Free wifi!! Not too far from tourist attractions/sights but you'd need your own car! A new year's gift from the company was a lovely touch!! We'd definitely stay here again!! :o)


Check in: 4 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 4 out of 5 stars

Service: 4 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 4 out of 5 stars

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Value: 4 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Sharon, March 7, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

The Essex Manor was ideal for our month-long la stay - 5 out of 5 stars

My teenage son and I were recently in Los angeles for a month on business. We were so fortunate to have found The Essex Manor on Craig's List.
The location was ideal, as we needed to be in various locations around the city and we were able to get anywhere we needed in about 20 minutes. We also spent a good bit of time around the neighborhood, day and night, and found it to be interesting, culturally exciting, safe and being so close to the amazing building that houses Southwestern Law School gave us solid grounding both visually and aesthetically.
The staff and amenities couldn't have been more perfect. The apartment and building were very clean and well-tended. The parking was extremely safe and convenient.
We will definitely stay at The Essex on future la visits!


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 5 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Recent Renter, August 16, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Great place! - 5 out of 5 stars

I stayed here for ten weeks and had a very enjoyable and pleasant experience. The on-site manager is really nice and helpful. The premises are clean and the room (Marilyn Monroe) had everything I needed for my extended stay. I highly recommend Essex Mannor!


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 5 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Traveller from Canada, April 27, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Pleasant Stay in la - 4 out of 5 stars

Our stay was very good. The room was clean convenient and very quiet at night. The location is close to the Metro Train which allows travel without the rental car hassle. The neighbourhood was very walkable and we often went for a walk after supper and felt completely safe.


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 4 out of 5 stars

Value: 4 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Cecilia, April 23, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Excellent stay. Highly recommended - 5 out of 5 stars

We arrived earlier than check-in time and the resident manager let us leave the luggage in a store room. He was very kind with us.
The apartment was very comfortable, with plenty of space to leave our stuff (we had a lot of luggage). The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you need to cook your own meal. All was perfectly clean, lots of towels, free wifi, a laundry in the basement, free parking (it was great to arrive at night and have a place to park our car!). The neighbourhood was peaceful and there are many stores and restaurants in the area. However, I don't recommend to go for a walk at night. We always used the car. We had an excellent stay and will definitely come back again if we ever visit la again.


Check in: 4 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 4 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 3 out of 5 stars

Value: 4 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Families

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by Malijohn, August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Fantastic stay - 5 out of 5 stars

Sevice was great and the room was spotless.Fantastic place to stay, close to Underground and Metro 20 bus line. Bed and Sofa bed were both comfy.

There was only one complaint which is minor, the air-conditioner was set in the wrong window it is right beside the bed and really hard to sleep with it on.


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 5 out of 5 stars

Value: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Recommended for: Travelers, Romantic, Families

Link to Actual Review

Yelp Review by Mariana V, March 1, 2014

4 out of 5 stars

Translated by “translate.google.com” as follows:

With affordable, clean, safe, comfortable, quiet, friendly rates. The staff is very friendly and the apartment has everything you need for a long stay:  kitchen with stove with oven, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and dishes.

The mattress and pillows are comfortable and both the hotel and the surroundings are quiet, so the rest is unbeatabe.

The wifi is excellent and included.

In the basement there are washing machines and dryers coin operated, very useful when traveling for many days.  Parking is also included in the rate.

Maid service is optional, but provide for clothes iron and ironing boards, sheets, blankets and extra pillows, towels and many items to keep the apartment reasonably clean.

Los Angeles is a huge city, where everything is far from everything, this hotel is located halfway between the most interesting attractions, as it is one block from Wilshire Boulevard, which is the main drag through LA, to four blocks from the Metro takes you to Hollywood in 15 minutes, 20 to Universal City, and in 10 minutes the Staples Center.  In addition, there is also the stop of Metro buses that go to Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, etc.  We were walking all day, we returned to the hotel and then went out at night to Hollywood Boulevard.

There is a fairly well-stocked supermarket a few blocks away, a branch of Domino 's Pizza, Ralph's.

I give it 4 points because after having the oven on for 10 minutes the fire alarm sounded in the room.  Air conditioning is next to the bed and you can not turn overnight.




Original Review:


Con tarifas accesibles, limpio, seguro, cómodo, silencioso, agradable. El personal es muy amable y el departamento tiene todo lo necesario para una estancia larga: cocina equipada con cocina con horno, heladera con freezer, microondas, tostadora de pan, cafetera y vajilla.
El colchón y las almohadas son cómodos y tanto el hotel como los alrededores son silenciosos, por lo que el descanso es inmejorable.
El wifi es excelente y está incluido.
En el subsuelo hay lavadoras de ropa y secadoras que funcionan con monedas, muy útil cuando se viaja por muchos días. También hay estacionamiento incluido en la tarifa.
El servicio de mucama es opcional, pero proporcionan plancha para la ropa y tabla de planchar, sábanas, mantas y almohadas supletorias, muchísimas toallas y elementos para mantener el departamento razonablemente limpio.
Los Angeles es una ciudad enorme, donde todo se encuentra lejos de todo; este hotel se encuentra a mitad de camino entre las atracciones más interesantes, ya que está a una cuadra de Wilshire Boulevard -que es la avenida principal que atraviesa LA-, a cuatro cuadras del metro que en 15 minutos te lleva a Hollywood, en 20 a Universal City, y en 10 minutos al Staples Center. Además, allí también está la parada de los buses del Metro, que van hacia Santa Mónica, Beverly Hills, etc. Nosotros paséabamos durante todo el día, volvíamos al hotel y luego íbamos por la noche a Hollywood Boulevard.
Hay un supermercado bastante bien provisto a pocas calles, una sucursal de Ralph´s y de Domino´s Pizza.
Le doy 4 puntos porque luego de tener el horno encendido durante 10 minutos sonaba la alarma de incendio de la habitación. El aire acondicionado está junto a la cama y no es  posible encenderlo durante la noche.




Link to Actual Review.

Trip Advisor Review by MarianaV35, March 1, 2014

Google Translation:

"Loved it!" 4 out of 5 stars


We stayed for two weeks in Essex Manor and it was like home.  With highly affordable, clean, safe, comfortable, quiet, friendly rates, this hotel has it all.  The staff is very friendly, and the apartment has everything you need for a long stay:  fully equipped kitchen with oven, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, kettle and enough crockery.  The mattress and pillows were extremely comfortable, and both the hotel and the surroundings are quiet, so that the quality of rest is unbeatable.  The wifi is excellent and is included which is an important advantage.  In the basement there are washing machines and dryers coin-operated, so it is very useful when traveling for many days.  Parking is also included in the rate.  Maid service is optional, but provide for clothes iron and ironing boards, sheets, blankets and extra pillows, towels and many items to keep the apartment reasonably clean, so do not need more.  Los Angeles is a huge city, where everything is out of the way.  This hotel is located halfway between the most interesting attractions, as it is one block from Wilshire Boulevard, which is the main drag through LA, from end to end, four blocks from the metro takes you in 15 minutes Hollywood in Universal City 20, and 10 minutes to Staples Center. In addition, there is also the stop of Metro buses that go to Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, etc.  We were walking all day, we returned to the hotel and then went out at night to ride around Hollywood Boulevard.  We returned on foot from the subway late at night and never saw anyone that worry us, the neighborhood is very quiet. There is a fairly well-stocked supermarket a few blocks, and a branch of Ralph's almost 10 blocks, which is a big plus.  There is also a branch of Domino's Pizza, which are delicious. The decor has a somewhat old-fashioned, but very quaint and very pretty.  The touch of color were given bouquets of chocolates and See's Candies at the door of our apartment the day before Valentine's Day, a pleasant surprise and a great detail <3.  I give it 4 points instead of 5, because after having the oven on for 10 minutes starting to sound the fire alarm in the room and had to turn it off, and noticed that in other rooms because it was the same sound heard when dinner.  Also, the air conditioner is right next to the bed, which makes it not possible to leave it on overnight.  Were the only two things that we find objectionable, because we loved the hotel.  I wish more hotels like encontráramos Essex Manor in other cities.  Had an amazing holiday, thanks for everything!


Original Review:


“Me encanto” 4 out of 5 stars


Nos alojamos durante dos semanas en Essex Manor y fue como estar en casa.
Con tarifas sumamente accesibles, limpio, seguro, cómodo, silencioso, agradable, este hotel lo tiene todo. El personal es muy amable, y el departamento tiene todo lo necesario para una estancia larga: cocina totalmente equipada con cocina con horno, heladera con freezer, microondas, tostadora de pan, cafetera y vajilla suficiente.
El colchón y las almohadas son sumamente cómodos, y tanto el hotel como los alrededores son silenciosos, por lo que la calidad de descanso es inmejorable.
El wifi es excelente y está incluido, lo cual es una ventaja importante.
En el subsuelo hay lavadoras de ropa y secadoras que funcionan con monedas, lo que es muy útil cuando se viaja por muchos días. También hay estacionamiento incluido en la tarifa.
El servicio de mucama es opcional, pero proporcionan plancha para la ropa y tabla de planchar, sábanas, mantas y almohadas supletorias, muchísimas toallas y elementos para mantener el departamento razonablemente limpio, así que no se necesita más.
Los Angeles es una ciudad enorme, donde todo se encuentra lejos de todo; este hotel se encuentra a mitad de camino entre las atracciones más interesantes, ya que está a una cuadra de Wilshire Boulevard -que es la avenida principal que atraviesa L.A, de punta a punta-, a cuatro cuadras del metro que en 15 minutos te lleva a Hollywood, en 20 a Universal City, y en 10 minutos al Staples Center. Además, allí también está la parada de los buses del Metro, que van hacia Santa Mónica, Beverly Hills, etc. Nosotros paséabamos durante todo el día, volvíamos al hotel y luego íbamos por la noche a dar unas vueltas por Hollywood Boulevard. Volvíamos caminando desde el metro bien entrada la noche, y nunca vimos a nadie que nos preocupara, el barrio es muy tranquilo.
Hay un supermercado bastante bien provisto a pocas calles, y una sucursal de Ralph´s a casi 10 cuadras, lo cual es una gran ventaja. También hay una sucursal de Domino´s Pizza, que son riquísimas.
La decoración tiene un estilo algo antiguo, pero muy pintoresco y muy bonito.
La nota de color la dieron los bouquets de chocolates y caramelos de See's Candies que los huéspedes encontramos en la puerta de nuestros apartamentos el día previo a San Valentín, una grata sorpresa y un gran detalle <3
Le doy 4 puntos en lugar de 5, porque luego de tener el horno encendido durante 10 minutos empezaba a sonar la alarma de incendio de la habitación y había que apagarla, y notamos que en otras habitaciones ocurría lo mismo porque las oíamos sonar a la hora de la cena. Asimismo, el aire acondicionado está justo junto a la cama, lo que hace que no sea posible dejarlo encendido durante la noche. Fueron las dos únicas cosas objetables que encontramos, porque el hotel nos encantó. Ojalá encontráramos más hoteles como Essex Manor en otras ciudades.
Pasamos unas vacaciones increíbles, gracias por todo!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple

Value:  5 out of 5

Location:  4 out of 5

Sleep Quality:  5 out of 5

Rooms:  4 out of 5

Cleanliness:  5 out of 5

Service:  5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Moses, Castries, St. Lucia, February 28, 2014

"Excellent Value" 5 out of 5 stars


We rent a vehicle when in Los Angeles, so getting around is not a problem.  The hotel is located about 5 minutes from Downtown and the Fashion Center.  Don the on site Hotel Manager is always available to help with any query.  Our trips are usually seven to ten days, this trip was a month, and my wife enjoyed it more.  She was able to cook what she wanted because of the full kitchen.  Not mini anything.  Oh, you have an assigned, secured parking.  Great hotel

Room Tip:  My wife and I have stayed at Essex Manor on numerous occasions, rooms on the Parking side of hotel a...


Stayed February 2014, traveled on business


Value:  5 out of 5

Location:  5 out of 5

Sleep Quality:  5 out of 5

Rooms:  5 out of 5

Cleanliness:  5 out of 5

Service:  5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Bobbi D, February 9, 2014

"One word-- Incredible!" 5 out of 5 stars


Stayed a few days in September and again in December.  This is a hidden gem!!!  We travel frequently and have been all over the world, so I feel that we can comment with a vast knowledge of superior resorts and some not so nice places.  This not a five star resort, with mints on your pillow; it's a home away from home. Very comfortable. Boutique style, cute.  Centrally located, ten minutes from Hollywood and Universal. Wonderfully clean.  Well equipped kitchen.  Superior management.  Safe!  Secure building and parking.  We will be going back, again, and again.


Stayed September 2013, traveled with family


Value:  5 out of 5

Location:  5 out of 5

Sleep Quality:  5 out of 5

Rooms:  5 out of 5

Cleanliness:  5 out of 5

Service:  5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Melizabeth11, February 9, 2014

"Wonderful Stay" 5 out of 5 stars


I cannot say enough positive things about Essex Manor.  I had the pleasure of staying in the Audrey Hepburn room for five months.  I was in Los Angeles by myself for work, and didn't want to have to go through the hassle of renting out an apartment that wouldn't provide furniture or any other amenities.

Essex Manor is truly a hidden gem in Los Angeles.  You're minutes away from Hollywood and Downtown LA.  I was first impressed with the attentiveness of the entire staff.  They were always quick to respond to my e-mails and even allowed me to come tour the apartments prior to committing to a month lease (my original intention was to stay only for a month, but I enjoyed Essex Manor so much that I extended my lease).  Don, the property manager, was very pleasant and made himself readily available if any issues occurred.  Luckily, I only had to talk to him once about the Wi-Fi and it was promptly fixed.

Since it was just me living in the apartment, I found the size to be extremely comfortable.  The kitchen was an adequate size and all cooking utensils (pots, pans, bowls, silverware, toaster, coffee maker, full-size fridge, etc.) were provided.  I had a queen-size bed that was VERY comfortable.  You're provided with several extra sheets, blankets, an additional comforter, etc.

The bathroom was also a reasonable size and they provided plenty of towels.  I never had to wait to do my laundry and it was $1.00 to wash clothing, and 50 cents to dry.  If you're not familiar with Los Angeles, that price is VERY cheap compared to laundromats and other apartment laundry facilities.

Additional amenities included Time Warner Cable, Wi-Fi, jacuzzi, outdoor patio area, and a free gated parking spot (THIS IS A HUGE PLUS TO HAVE).  I must also comment on the safety level of Essex Manor. You will be provided with a garage clicker in order to access your parking spot and a set of keys in order to enter the building.  You have to go through two doors just to get inside the building, and have to enter a code in order to access your room.  As a young female living by herself, safety was a very important factor for me, and I never once felt unsafe living here.  I even slept with my window open the majority of the time.

In order to keep their prices reasonable, you are not provided with a cleaning service, and they were very upfront about this so it was not a surprise to me that I was in charge of the upkeep in the apartment.  A broom, dustpan, and Swiffer were provided so keeping the apartment clean was very easy.

I highly recommend Essex Manor and will gladly stay here again should I need to return to Los Angeles.

Thank you to the entire Essex Manor staff for a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: They provide pictures and square footage on their website for each room.  I highly recommend looking...


Stayed January 2014, traveled solo


Value:  5 out of 5

Location:  4 out of 5

Sleep Quality:  5 out of 5

Rooms:  5 out of 5

Cleanliness:  5 out of 5

Service:  5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by K S, February 25, 2014

"Such a great place" 5 out of 5 stars


This is my second stay at the Essex and I was happy again.  Clean, safe, with all the amenities, kitchen ware, toaster, microwave, fridge, gas.  Lots of towels, convenient laundry room.  I like the themes each apartment has.  Stayed this time with Jimmy Stewart.  I highly recommend the Essex.  And Don is a friendly helpful manager.  Thanks.


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review, September 4, 2013
Quirky, cost-effective stay in central location, 5 out of 5 circles
I had a heck of a time finding affordable lodging for my family of four during a recent trip to Los Angeles--especially as it just doesn’t work to try to get my teenagers to share a bed of ANY size.  Frankly, I almost didn’t even bother writing to the Essex Manor.  From their website I got the impression that their minimum stay was one week.  But I heard back promptly and was pleased to find that they do take three nights or more. . . so we booked four nights in the Paul Newman Room for roughly $125/night (once you factored in cleaning fees, taxes, etc.)
I figured that it would be a quirky, different, place to stay, especially with the Paul Newman decor, and that proved to be true.  I also expected that it would be a little tight for a family of four, and that proved true as well.  We didn’t have much floor space left over once the futon was unfolded and a rollaway bed was brought in, but that was fine.
Positives:  The location was really convenient for our plans to go to Universal Studios, a Dodgers game, and downtown L.A.  It would be very easy to get to Hollywood, too.  It’s just very central, and that’s important when there is so much traffic everywhere....  It was a little weird that the parking lot and hotel were surrounded by fences with barbed wire, but we sure didn’t worry about security...  There is a full-sized fridge, stove, etc., so its handy if you want to save money by dining in--especially helpful at breakfast time...  They have a Jacuzzi, but it was too hot outside to make that appealing.  We took advantage of the washer/dryer in the basement--very useful.  The value is hard to beat for a family of four willing to stay in close proximity to each other.
Negatives:  Nothing major...  The shower is pretty small, and I hit my head on the metal frame of it coming out...  I wouldn’t describe the room as fancy or incredibly nice in any way...  The utensils, bowls, cooking stuff, etc., were adequate but not extensive. The A/C is uncomfortably close to the bed, so it was tricky to avoid getting frozen by it blowing on me.
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Link to Actual Review     http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g32655-d1937404-Reviews-Essex_Manor_Hotel_Apartments-Los_Angeles_California.htmlshapeimage_6_link_0
Wimdu Review by Bernard, September, 2013
8 Very good

Very welcoming, the description fits very well to the apartment, the place is quiet, there is a 3 minute walk from the metro, which are ready to see it all. There is a jacuzzi and barbecue grills available to end a long day of sightseeing, what more! I would definitely go back if I pass by!
Translated by Google Translate

Très bon accueil, la description correspond très bien à l'appartement, l'endroit est calme, on est à 3 minutes à pied du métro, de quoi être prêt de tout ce qu'il faut voir. 
Il y a un jacuzzi et des barbecues à disposition pour terminer une longue journée de visites, que demander de plus ! 
Je n'hésiterais pas y retourner si je repasse par là !
Link to Actual Review     https://www.wimdu.com/offers/1E975FS4shapeimage_7_link_0

Flipkey Review by Just visiting, December 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Comfortable and safe  4 out of 5 stars

In a less than upscale neighborhood, I felt safe while in the Hotel/Apts.  All of the basics supplied, the room was very clean.  Really clean and I always travel with disinfectant and rubber gloves ready to wipe down everything when I check in, but I was impressed with the cleanliness of the floors and bathroom crevices.  This is not the best location but they have designated secure (fenced razor wire) parking, motion detected hallway lights and dual security code access doors on each room.  The on-site manager, Don, was accommodating and responsive, even though I didn't need anything during my 7 day stay.  The commom areas (laundry facilities, patio with hot tub, grill and lounge chairs) looked inviting but it was chilly out and I didn't use them.  This is not a 5 star hotel, no room service or concierge, but I liked the privacy.  Free Wi-Fi was awesome.  The queen bed was firm and I like that. Even a dainty treat with my name on it for Thanksgiving.  I give the Essex Manor a rating of " Very Good".   I would give it an "Excellent" rating if the neighborhood was nicer, but that's inner city Los angeles for you.  Homeless people and trash abound.  If you're faint of heart, pay the extra money and head to Bel-Air or Beverly Hills.  But I'd stay here again, it's a good value.  Note: if you have a lot of things that need charging, bring a power strip.  I had trouble plugging in my iPads, pods and personal routers because the power outlets were behind stuff or inconveniently located.  One didn't work in the kitchen area.


Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 4 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 3 out of 5 stars

Value: 4 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

Response from Heather Leigh, Reservations Desk - 12/16/2013

Thank you for the candid review.


We are sorry that we were not informed that an outlet did not work, because we would have repaired it immediately, as we have.


Also, while it is true that we are not far from a park and that there is occasional litter, our staff always pick up any litter that is seen, even if it is across the street or down the way.


Thanks again.


Esssex Manor Hotel Apartments

Management


Link to Actual Review

E-mailed Review by Hong, K.H., Malaysia, June 5, 2014

Dear Dare,


Thank you for the email.  I’ll like to apologise for the delay in responding as we were still traveling in the U.S. at the time of your email.  We’ve enjoyed our stay at Essex Manor.  The room we stayed was clean and complete with amenities.  We feel very safe staying there.  Most of all, we really appreciate Don, the Manager.  Not only was he helpful, he was very patient with us whenever we sought him for ideas on places to visit.  He even took the trouble to provide us with coupons and telephone numbers.  What an amazing guy!  Essex Manor is very fortunate to have Don on their team.


Thank you for accommodating us during our recent visit to Los Angeles.


Have a great weekend.


Regards,


K.

Trip Advisor Review by JackieLudwick, April 14, 2014

"A Charming place to stay!!" 5 out of 5 stars


The Hotel is kept up so nicely. The rooms are supplied with everything I needed to make my stay comfortable. Very CLEAN & impeccable. Don the manager is a sweetheart too! Thank you Essex. I'll be back!

Room Tip:  My wife and I have stayed at Essex Manor on numerous occasions, rooms on the Parking side of hotel a...


Stayed April 2014


Value:  5 out of 5

Location:  4 out of 5

Sleep Quality:  5 out of 5

Rooms:  5 out of 5

Cleanliness:  5 out of 5

Service:  5 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by Michelle P, May 12, 2014

"Great Accommodation!!!!!!!!" 5 out of 5 stars


Clean and and owner very helpful. The owner was A+ would go back any time, first time in USA with a teenage girl awesome work Don you did well and should feel proud of you accommodation
.....I met some lovely people while staying there


Stayed April 2014, traveled with family


Value:  4 out of 5

Location:  4 out of 5

Sleep Quality:  4 out of 5

Rooms:  4 out of 5

Cleanliness:  4 out of 5

Service:  4 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Trip Advisor Review by GianDoNaki,Ranco Varese, August 5, 2014

Google Translation:

"The house of my daughter for seven months in the city of Angels!" 4 out of 5 stars


My daughter Nakita, for reasons of attendance at courses of MakeUpSchool of Hollywood, has chosen this accommodation, located in the vicinity of the school, between the center of Hollywood and the Financial District., In the Korean, but quiet in seven months no problem. Historical building arranged with some mini-apartments (twenty) of good quality. It offers private parking, garden with barbeque, hot tub and sun loungers. Washing machines and dryers in the basement. Comes with everything you need for kitchen and bathroom at night. no problem for the refund of the sum paid as a deposit at the time of payment, all in anticipo.Ben served by public transport, walk 3 minutes and 5 minutes bus metrò.Un on-site manager, very friendly and helpful, all at a price acceptable, monthly USdollar 1350, with the possibility also daily (about 80 dollars). A good soluzione.Cable TV


Original Review:


“La casa di mia figlia per sette mesi nella città degli Angeli” 4 out of 5 stars


Mia figlia Nakita , per motivi di frequenza ai corsi della MakeUpSchool di Hollywood, ha scelto questa sistemazione,ubicata nelle vicinanze della scuola, tra il centro di Hollywood ed il Financial District., nella zona coreana ma tranquilla, in sette mesi nessun problema. Edificio di interesse storico sistemato con alcuni mini appartamenti ( una ventina ) di buona qualità. A disposizione parcheggio privato, garden con barbeque , idromassaggio e lettini. Lavatrici e asciugatrici a gettone nello scantinato. Fornito con tutto il necessario per bagno cucina e notte. nessun problema per la restituzione della cifra versata come cauzione al momento del pagamento, tutto in anticipo.Ben servito da mezzi pubblici, a piedi 3 minuti bus e 5 minuti metrò.Un responsabile in loco, molto gentile e disponibile, il tutto ad un prezzo accettabile, mensilmente 1350 U.S.dollar, con possibilità anche giornaliero ( circa 80 dollari ). Una buona soluzione.Cable TV

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family

Sleep Quality:  5 out of 5

Cleanliness:  3 out of 5

Service:  4 out of 5


Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by WinkyC, Yokosuka, Japan, December 6, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Just right for a change of pace! - 4 out of 5 stars

My wife and I enjoyed a four-night stay at the Essex Manor in la - staying in the audrey Hepburn room. Very clean, comfortable bed, nice kitchen, fluffy towels. The resident manager was nice enough to provide an extra bar of soap, although he mentioned that was not the normal policy - so if you're staying longer than one small motel-sized bar of soap will last, you'll want to bring another bar yourself. Two very small "things:" There was a cricket in the kitchen sink and several very small ants in the bathroom sink, none of these bothered us very much. Security of the hotel is nice, but a little overwhelming for us coming from Japan where such security measures aren't usually necessary. Checking in required calling ahead of time in order to be "let in" through the labyrinth of gates and doors. Overall - great place for the price and location.

Link to Actual Review    

Flipkey Review by JaimeAC, Bogota, Colombia, May 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Great place to stay, Flawless service. Everything you need...”  5 out of 5 stars

There is a lot to say about this room, and about Essex Manor after one month-long stay, but the first thing is that you feel really welcome here in the building, and in L.A.! The high professionalism of the people in charge, (specially Dare, who is always willing to make your life as easy and happy as possible here), the very clean rooms with an attention to the smallest possible detail, Extremely comfortable bed, really nice flat TV with premium HD channels, had all the amenities you could possibly want, the building itself was very secure, the on-premises manager, Don, is always ready to help you with anything, etc...
Location! Just three blocks away from a big metro station that takes you to Hollywood or Downtown in just minutes, or to Santa Monica in autobus. It’s not far away from anything... and that is a great thing in LA.
My English is really bad, but they were really patience and kind about it.
This room would cost three times that in a hotel just a few blocks away... you get so much for the price... really well managed and planed property. You can tell that their priority number one is the guest... Thank you.
Just a couple of little things that I dislike, but they are insignificant when you get such a nice experience. I hope I can stay here somewhere in the near future. What a Great place to stay...


Ease of booking: 5 out of 5 stars

Key pickup/access to the property: 5 out of 5 stars

Quality of bedding/mattresses: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness of bathroom: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars

Directions to the property: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall condition: 5 out of 5 stars

Kitchen/utensils quality: 5 out of 5 stars

Quality of facilities/amenities: 5 out of 5 stars


Liked best: Everything.

Liked least: I have to leave...

Traveling group: Solo

My age: 35-49

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  Yes.


The property was "as advertised". I recommend the location.


The property was a good value for the price paid.


The property provided wifi/internet access.


Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by A FlipKey verified reviewer, Denver, March 7, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

The Essex Manor was ideal for our month-long la stay - 5 out of 5 stars

My teenage son and I were recently in Los angeles for a month on business. We were so fortunate to have found The Essex Manor on Craig's List.
The location was ideal, as we needed to be in various locations around the city and we were able to get anywhere we needed in about 20 minutes. We also spent a good bit of time around the neighborhood, day and night, and found it to be interesting, culturally exciting, safe and being so close to the amazing building that houses Southwestern Law School gave us solid grounding both visually and aesthetically.
The staff and amenities couldn't have been more perfect. The apartment and building were very clean and well-tended. The parking was extremely safe and convenient.
We will definitely stay at The Essex on future la visits!


Value: 5 out of 5 stars

Location: 5 out of 5 stars

Check in: 5 out of 5 stars

Comfort: 5 out of 5 stars

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5 stars

Service: 5 out of 5 stars


Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Absolutely!

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review byNanC6228, Lawrence, Kansas, July 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Great for extended stay when visiting at USC - 4 out of 5 stars

We found Essex House through Tripadvisor when looking for a good place to stay for a few days while our daughter attended USC freshman orientation. The location is very good and the security is very much appreciated. The extra security measures of having so many keys, codes and clicker were a little difficult for us. As landlords ourselves, we completely understood all the requirements for "tenants," but it's hard to act & feel like a tenant when you stay just 4 days. I would stay here again, but my husband prefers something more like a hotel/condo. Having to shut off a/c and conserve water, etc. was not appealing to him. And having to break out the camping gear we had with us (extra paper towels, toilet paper, air mattress). Still, I think Essex House is a great place, as long as you understand it's more like renting an apartment than staying at a condo.
As for our room, the W.C. Fields, whoever designed it missed the mark by a longshot. Again, I'll say that we are landlords so we've done some remodel work ourselves. The biggest problem is the a/c in the window blowing across the bed. There's another window that could've been used for the a/c and would've been ideal. The person who hung the bathroom cabinet/mirror must've been no more than 5 ft tall. There's plenty of room to hang it higher. My husband is average height (6'0") and had to duck down to see himself in the mirror. The shower was short enough that even I, at 5'6", had to lean over to wash my hair. A handheld shower head/hose would be a godsend. These fixes would be easy enough to do and would make the apartment a lot more amenable.

Link to Actual Review

Flip Key Review by happy customer, Austin, TX, June22, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Nice for extended stay - 4 out of 5 stars

I can't say enough about the Essex Manor. Amazing location no matter where you're going in la. Unbelievable deal if you're staying for a week or more. Clean as a whistle, safe and secure, and nice management that is always a phone call away. Perfect mix of nostalgic touches and contemporary amenities. Never had a single problem. I will stay here every time I go to la from now on.

Link to Actual Review